First day, the fire - Reisverslag uit Kumi, Oeganda van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu First day, the fire - Reisverslag uit Kumi, Oeganda van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu

First day, the fire

Door: Edwin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Edwin

15 April 2015 | Oeganda, Kumi

I wake up at 7:00h, enjoy the breakfast of bread, egg and tea, and walk 10-15min to the hospital terrain. Here people gather inside the chapel, all employers are expected but not obligated to join in the daily assembly. We start praising the Lord and singing to his grace, none of the songs I know, but I try to humm along. After many repetitions of the hallelujah chorus, I can sing the chorus along, leaving smiles on the faces around me. After some more prayers, the medical director introduces me and asks me to step forward. I introduce myself and tell them I hope to learn from all of them and where possible to teach to them.

Next, they welcome me officially and traditionally by making fire inside the chapel! (I need some “warming up” they say, since I am from a cold country). One by one they all start rubbing their hands as a wave becoming louder and louder then suddenly they CLAP! I feel welcomed and warmed with this personal ‘fire’  I applaud and thank them and start my first day!
Dr. Olupot, the medical director, shows me around the hospital terrain in person. Everywhere I am introduced and I am “very welcome” to come to Kumi.

The hospital consists of a big fenced terrain with gate , several ward buildings, two operation theaters (one maternity, one general), paramedic buildings (a.o. orthopaedic workshop, fysiotherapy, cooking area), two water towers (pumped with water from 10km away), the buildings are connected by dirtpaths or stone paths through the grass, outside the perimeter a farmfield (left abandoned for several years due to raids and theft of the cattle by rebels and tribes), and even an airstrip! Many employers live just outside the hospital with home + farmfield. I’m sure to forget something, it’s quite a village all together.
After the tour I start in the operating theatre, first observing and aiding where possible, mainly orthopaedic surgery, e.g. helping to set bone fractures. From tomorrow on I will assist with operations.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Edwin

This journal will allow you a peak into my adventure in Uganda: Performing internships in a local hospital and travelling through the country, experiencing its beauty in people, culture and nature, as well as its darker sides of poverty and disease and differences in education. I hope it will show you the great experence that I am having here!

Actief sinds 19 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 183
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6091

Voorgaande reizen:

12 April 2015 - 11 Juli 2015

Uganda

Landen bezocht: