The ride - Reisverslag uit Kumi, Oeganda van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu The ride - Reisverslag uit Kumi, Oeganda van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu

The ride

Door: Edwin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Edwin

14 April 2015 | Oeganda, Kumi

During the evening and night the power shut down, and the generator kicked in, finished its fuel, was refilled, and finished once more. So at 05:00am I wake up in a completely dark guesthouse without electricity. With my flashlight I manage to pack again and leave. I’m picked up by the same driver ‘company’, different driver this time. I arrive 5:50h at the busstop, where our car (or my presence) seems a magnet for bus drivers who immediately open the doors of our car and ask where I need to go and taking my luggage. With a smile I tell them I can carry my own luggage and I take it back. I am guided to the bus to Kumi, which I am told is about to depart. I get in and wait 2hours before departing.

In the bus I meet a friendly guy John, who explains me the view from time to time during the busdrive. Plantages of tea, cotton and sugarcane are some topics. With every stop people enter who want to sell stuff to us, I reply kindly “no thank you” except once where we invite ourselves to a grilled banana. ‘Fruit’ and ‘freshly grilled’ sounds like something my Muzungu (white man) stomach could handle.

Finally, 8 hours later (including many stops, waits, unexplained stops, 1 sanitary stop and slowly driving through the bumpy roads) I arrive in Kumi, where I take a bodaboda (motorcycle + driver) bringing me to the guesthouse.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Edwin

This journal will allow you a peak into my adventure in Uganda: Performing internships in a local hospital and travelling through the country, experiencing its beauty in people, culture and nature, as well as its darker sides of poverty and disease and differences in education. I hope it will show you the great experence that I am having here!

Actief sinds 19 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 174
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6081

Voorgaande reizen:

12 April 2015 - 11 Juli 2015

Uganda

Landen bezocht: