Departure - Reisverslag uit Dubai, Verenigde Arabische Emiraten van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu Departure - Reisverslag uit Dubai, Verenigde Arabische Emiraten van Edwin Vrij - WaarBenJij.nu

Departure

Door: Edwin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Edwin

12 April 2015 | Verenigde Arabische Emiraten, Dubai

After a warm and proper goodbye in Schiphol airport, I flew off to Dubai, arriving at midnight after finishing two Lord of the Rings movies, parts of the third movie, and Dracula - untold, indeed I hadn’t heard about this ‘untold’ view on the story. In Dubai I am lucky to have 9 hours connection time. This is enough time to visit all the shops, opened 24/7, where they exhibit luxurious cutlery or tons of candy and even a Porsche to win (I didn’t win). I continue to the perfume shop where I’m sprayed upon with many types of perfume to try (because “it will smell different on skin”).

Refreshed (with a slight touch of flowers, wood and citrus) I try to find a place to sleep the remaining hours. Information counter tells me it will cost at least 21 USDollars/hour in a snooze room, so I decide to find myself a comfortable couch for the nap. As I pass by many seats, every now and then I see a few people lying on the padded ground behind/underneath the seats. This doesn’t seem comfortable so I continue my search. The seat of choice is located in a peaceful place in the hallway, with palm trees at my side and the continuous murmur of the horizontal escalator. The seat is not that comfortable… and I manage to eventually sleep 2 hours on the floor, like the other stranded travellers who probably tried the seats some hours before me.

  • 19 April 2015 - 18:16

    Wim De Vrij:

    Zo, Edwin, de kop is er af. We wensen je een heel goed verblijf in Uganda. Je zult vele ervaringen rijker worden. Bedankt voor je eerste bericht en we blijven je volgen!!
    Liefs van mama en papa

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Edwin

This journal will allow you a peak into my adventure in Uganda: Performing internships in a local hospital and travelling through the country, experiencing its beauty in people, culture and nature, as well as its darker sides of poverty and disease and differences in education. I hope it will show you the great experence that I am having here!

Actief sinds 19 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 138
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6089

Voorgaande reizen:

12 April 2015 - 11 Juli 2015

Uganda

Landen bezocht: